Where is my Unicorn?

Gentle healing magic
beckons softly
as the tides
bring waves
crashing to
white moonlit
sandy beaches.

After not
enough days
under the sun,
sometimes
I’ve come undone.

Still waiting
for my
Unicorn
to appear.

It’s not my time
she whispers,
I’m anywhere
but here.

Playfully,
she beckons
from the waves
rushing
out to sea.

Standing at
the shore,
I wonder if
she’s truly free.

Gathering
shiny pebbles
and starfish,
counting
teardrops
as they fall,
glistening
like diamonds.

My earthly burdens
at times seem
so heavy,
breaking
this back –
without her,
they are mountains.

So where is
my Unicorn now?

If and when
she returns,
can she
possibly
recognize
me, and how?

So worn out,
broken hearted,
battle scars
too numerous
to count?

Hang on,
she whispers
gently,
it won’t be
too much
longer.

Be strong,
be strong,
be strong –
the Sun’s
about to
rise.

The cloudy
days will
be over,
above will
be blue skies.

Preserving these
precious teardrops,
annointing each
and every scar,
my Unicorn
is in my heart,
not hidden
in the stars.

@ Kamea Moonmaiden 2016

Leave a comment