Each teardrop is
like an icicle,
easing not the pain
of broken heart,
frozen memories
forever etched in time –
this winter of Love
this darkest of dark nights
has brought weariness
of Spirit – aching so
for my beloved,
his blue eyes
the most welcoming
his warm arms
the most comforting,
his voice
the most familiar.

His leaving wrenched
me open, left me raw,
hungry for Love
like a wounded animal,
holding back the floodgates
of grief for fear
of self combustion,
for surely feelings
this intense will
leave naught but
desolation in their wake.

False new beginnings
ended mercifully
before losing the
vast landscape of my heart,
these tears are not for one
who never came even close
to evoking the feelings
of a true beloved,
all promises turned false –
these new memories will
be quickly forgotten,
these teardrops are not his.

As I lay crumbling in
the ashes of all my
previous lives,
the ashes of all my
former loves,
I know the Sun will
always rise,
just as my soul too
will always rise
like a Phoenix,
and I will find Love
deep inside of me,
allowing all these
frozen memories
of pain to thaw,
preserving only
the beauty of
what once was.

© Kamea Moonmaiden

6 thoughts on “Frozen Memories

  1. What a heart rending poem.. But loved your last verse which showed me your light.. “I know the Sun will
    always rise,just as my soul too will always rise like a Phoenix, and I will find Love deep inside of me,
    allowing all these frozen memories of pain to thaw,preserving only the beauty of what once was.”

    You have always and will always be beautiful within.. Keep loving yourself..
    Loved this poem Kamea .
    Love Sue

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

