After the Fall

When nothing is left
of Love
after the fall,
that moment when
starting over
is the only
option.

That moment
when danger
becomes apparent
one last time,
enough to
provide the
impetus to pack
some bags and go.

Heart tightly bound,
how it keeps beating
still a mystery,
for surely
the heart
must have
reinvented itself
when my whole
world came
crashing down.

Four years now,
and this heart
is still recovering.

All this time
of learning,
and now discovering
how to recognize
those red flags
and lying eyes
before any new
daggers can dig deep
deep into me.

© Kamea Moonmaiden

For every woman who has ever had to leave her home in the middle of the night just to find safety, with or without children in tow – this woman can relate. Leaving was the best thing to do! Be true to yourself, you deserve the best! And I say that for myself as much as for you.

2 thoughts on “After the Fall

  1. You are such a brave soul, Kami; a Spirit Warrior in every sense. And an inspiration to those needing courage: the courage to leave, to love one’s self, and to love others, in spite of how we have been treated. Bravo!!

    Thanks for sharing this most personal story… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Lisa, it takes a long time to heal from something like that, but little by little I do get stronger. And start to feel more able to share bits of that chapter of my life. I know it has something to do with the way things have been going this year . And how important it is for me to guard my heart ! And so many women have been through much worse . Yet, I do know what it’s like to fear for my safety in my own home. And nobody should ever have to go through that.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

