My mama sang the blues to me
when I was a tiny baby.
She sang the blues to me
when I had just turned 3.
My mama sang the blues to me
as she built for us a new family.
She wanted us to be free,
be ourselves in a new reality.

Flower child, she found for us
a nice and brave new Daddy.

He loved her, loved her singing,
loved my sister and me.

They married in Topanga Canyon
with flowers in their hair,
Beautiful people everywhere,
songs of peace filled the air.

They took vows for all eternity,
we thought that we could never lose.
And we’ll always remember
when Mama sang the blues.

My mama sang the blues to me,
always seeking serenity.
Mama lived the blues too,
even after so much believing
in peace and love so true.
Her painful past kept
getting in the way.
If only she’d found her albatross,
she’d still be here today

She was the star-child lost,
she felt she’d come back too soon,
always ended up howling at the moon.
Last talked to her one fateful Sunday,
she was gone by Thursday morn.

I fell to my knees
when my sister called,
knowing before she spoke
that it was true.
And we’ll always remember
when Mama sang the blues.

Mama learned to play the blues, too,
on our upright piano,
strong and true.

She played expertly the classics,
Beethoven, Mozart and Chopin,
her fingers made of magic,
poured liquid silver
music into our ears,
filled our hearts
with hope and inspiration.

But it was different
when she played the blues.
Into blues she’d let
her whole self pour.

Transformed with each
and every score, she
soulfully sang Bessie Smith,
“That low-down alligator,
sooner or later gonna getcha
with yer britches down,”
bringing us to the floor,
rolling with laughter.

We sometimes sang along too,
and we’ll always remember
when Mama sang the blues.

Our Mama sang the blues to us
even after we were grown.
She sang us many songs,
taught us so much too.

Despite this world’s insanity,
she taught us how we each help
create our own reality.
This can be our Heaven or our Hell,
so we must all learn our lessons well.

Believing in peace and freedom;
she taught us our
differences make us beautiful,
and that war could
never set us free.

She believed we could build
a world of peace and harmony.
Even though she left so long ago,
in each of us she left here,
her love still flows and flows.

We are quite a tribe now –
Mama’s shining legacy,
our amazing family grows and grows.

I still see her sometimes
peak out through one of
my children’s and
grandchildren’s eyes.
That’s when I know that
Mama never truly died.

As long as we let our Light shine,
Mama is immortalized!
Life is a journey,
and we never truly lose.
And we’ll always remember
when Mama sang the blues.

@ Kamea Moonmaiden

4 thoughts on “When Mama Sang the Blues

    1. Thank you so much! She truly was special, which is one of the reasons I do love writing about her.

      I wrote the first version of this back in 2,000, the year after she passed. And am currently working on her biography.

      You’re so incredibly sweet. And talented. Big hugs!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

