Life in Tornado Alley

Well, tornado season came early this year. Usually they wait til about May 3. That  was the date of the monster storm which hit Moore, Oklahoma back in 2000. We had another monster three years ago. I didn’t see the funnel, but I did see the huge black wall cloud hosting that storm as my daughter picked up her three kids, tried to call my two youngest boys, who were at school and the phones died. Instead of hiding indoors I was in the middle of the street praying with a neighbor I had never met before.

Unfortunately, several people lost their lives that day, and thousands lost their homes. Six were children in an elementary school which had no  shelter.

Thousands of Oklahomans opened their homes and pitched in to help with the massive clean up. The trail of destruction was a mile wide and twenty miles long.

Tonight the tornadoes veered east of us just before they hit our area. This is what they usually do. They follow the river.

We had a huge thunderstorm with hail, mild flooding and tons of lightning. It was quite impressive.

My son and I, once we knew we didn’t have to leave for a shelter, listened to Black Sabbath’s War Pigs while dancing on the balcony, just soaking up the ions. It was awesome.

So right now am praying for the safety of all who are in the path of the twisters. Apparently the weather man called a small tornado a funnelette. Lol. That brought many of us quite a good laugh! Crazy Oklahoma people.

Lots of us are actually educated. Not all like the characters in The Grapes of Wrath, but some are. The good ole country folk who are rooted deeply in the rich red dirt. People of my soul. I sing their song.

So I will be back online next week, and am looking forward to that. Fixed my old laptop today, and since all the music and essays and poetry and short stories were thought to be lost, this was a wonderful break through.

Deep peace of the pouring rain to us all.

Namaste, my friends.

7 thoughts on “Life in Tornado Alley

  1. Living on the edge of Tornado Alley (Indianapolis), we don’t often get them here, and even less often do they cause a lot of damage. I’ve always been fascinated by them, I even grew up obsessed with the movie Twister. The movie did have its faults, but more or less what they explained was accurate. I’ve always wanted to see one myself, but then I chide myself for it because they cause damage. So why would I want to see something so powerful when it would mean seeing things destroyed at the same time? Maybe one day I’ll be nearby and catch a glimpse by chance. I’m happy you and your family are alright. And congratulations on fixing your laptop! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I saw Twister too, back in 1996.

      I have somehow escaped seeing a destructive one up close, but my daughter’s boyfriend is a storm chaser.

      Something about them is so incredibly alluring despite the danger. Although I know people who have had their homes lifted up around them as they were crouched in the bathtub, and that causes severe PTSD.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I can definitely understand how PTSD can come after surviving one. Having complex PTSD myself, I can understand the kind of panic they would feel when they’re triggered.

        Like

Leave a Reply

